How do I install this Runcam Owl Camera and SP3 video transmitter?

I know from my quads video build guide to use the parts of the power board nearest to me, but other than that I’m just confused.

http://imgur.com/a/6zkzr

It’s a run cam owl plus, and an SP3 48Ch Video Transmitter https://www.unmannedtechshop.co.uk/sp3-48ch-video-transmitter/

Here’s the build tutorial for my quad, i’m a complete noob at this.

PS - Before this I haven’t touched a soldering iron in 16 years, and I also don’t think the one I got was the best shape for the job. But I’ve tested it and it flies.

Looking at the board I guess the camera is just connected to where it says cam straight forward.
I presume CAM and VTX just connect to each other, so the signal through those and go to where it says VIDEO IN on the diagram?
Then the red wire from Vout VCC to positive on the power board, but which black wire to the negative?

Hi
In the CAM box of 3 pads connect camera wires like this: red to +, black to - , yellow to CAM
You also need to solder jump the two pads to the right on the PDB that will put 12volts onto the camera (see image below) If you are flying with a 3S battery pack you will not get the full12volts but what you do get (10.5 to 12.5v) will be filtered for a cleaner video signal.
Connect the video transmitter in a similar manner, +,-,VTX again link the pads, on the left, in the same way.
Basically the camera video signal goes in on the CAM pad, is mixed with the OSD data on the board and then leaves on the VTX pad to the transmitter. CAM and VTX do NOT connect together
Hope all this helps
Cheers
Steve :slight_smile:

Thanks, I just meant the signal goes from cam to VTX, but I was presuming it was plain data.

The build tutorial video suggests using 5v for the camera, and VCC for the transmitter.

Now i’m worried about that.

Got the transmitter wired up like this

Getting no lights though when I power it all up, nothing.

@Aegrim